Where Is My Perfect Life?

Social media makes it so hard to love your life. It makes it so hard to feel content with where you are and where you are going. I always wonder to myself “Why doesn’t my life look like that? When do I get my turn to be perfect?”

I find that everyone around me has perfect pictures, at the perfect place, with the perfect people. When I see the lives of others I can’t help but feel envious. I can’t help but want what they have. I can’t help but question the decisions that have led me to where I am. I can’t help but wonder how things would’ve been had I chosen a different path. It is hard not to look back and think of all the ‘what ifs’.

The hard thing about social media is that it is never the whole picture; it is only the happiest picture. Social media is like a permanent high-school reunion; everyone battling to be the most perfect and the most successful. Every picture and every post is perfectly curated and perfectly edited to give the illusion of perfection.

Everyone always posts the amazingly perfect parts of their lives. They post the beauty around them, the amazing adventures, the incredible milestones, the people they love, and the amazing success that they are experiencing. Rarely do people post about the days they were holding back tears, or the days they felt like a failure.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I know I have days where I dread getting out of bed, and where I am holding back tears in class. I know that the bad days come way too often and not once have I posted about them; not once have they slipped through the social media filter.

The sad posts are rare…. But they are human. Nobody has the perfect life.

I think my favourite part of my blog (and of the blogs I follow) is that it shows that I am far from perfect. I like that it shows the true reality of my life. I like that my blog shows my struggles as a twenty-year-old university student who is searching her way through life.

I have far from a perfect life, but I am grateful for all of the imperfections. I may not always like the times I struggle, and I may hate when my heart fills with fear and doubt, but I am thankful for them nonetheless. I am happy that those imperfections make me stronger, force me to fight harder, and make the wins taste so much sweeter.

I want to stop being jealous of others and I want to remove jealousy from my vocabulary. Nothing positive comes from jealousy. I want to be happy for the triumphs of others, as I would hope they would happy for me.

So where is my perfect life? I AM LIVING IT!

Leave a Reply

